It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 18 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:56 pm • # 1 

Apologies if this has been discussed in depth but, the title says it all...

While not technically UL, being as my lightest rod is my Lami Honey 7'6" 4wt, that's what I use when I want to "go light".

This last Fall, I started playing around with different setups for fishing streamers and really wanted to figure something out for this particular rod as it's loads of fun to fish (I fished it during the Deschutes Salmonfly hatch this last year and really had fun with it (it still cast those big flies with ease)). On a whim, I decided to line up one of my reels with a bunch of running line and play with various forms of shooting heads (both cut by me and factory). As it turned out, I had a 7wt Versitip II line lying around that I didn't really care for. The 4 tips that come with this are all 15' and I have a floating, intermediate, type 3 and type 6 (these tips are all 95gr). I attached these straight to the running line and gave it a go. Was I ever surprised at how well it cast....one back cast and fire away. I found that I'm able to cast anything up to at least a size 4 lightly weighted streamer (no bunny strips though) very easily. I'll likely be using this setup quite a bit as the majority of the waters I fish don't require streamers much larger than 2-3".

Let's hear it, what works for you?

Cheers,
Randy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:50 pm • # 2 

Very much the same as you are doing. Check out the thread below, I have the Commando Skagit head and making my own tips to cast with the three weight. I have also acquired some heavy line which I will be cutting down to form short weight forward heads to do just as you have done. I like the idea of one back cast and shoot but even better the Skagit type of roll cast.

viewtopic.php?f=66&t=10738

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:25 am • # 3