It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 16 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:12 am • # 1 

Would love to know some of your preferences and any comments you might have as to why ....

I'm thinking of a 7-ft, 3-wt. graphite rod and a 6-ft, 2-wt graphite rod, both medium-fast.

Specifically:

Snake guides or single-foot guides?

Uplocking, downlocking, or double-uplocking (or rings)?

What type of insert -- wood, cork, graphite, aluminum?

strap and ring hook keeper or u-shaped hook keeper?

Grip style -- torpedo, cigar, half wells, reversed half wells?

Has anyone considered adding an additional stripping guide closer to the grip of a short rod?

And I think that's it. Obviously I'm just starting out, but I'm really curious about what you guys prefer and what has worked or not worked for you in the past. Thanks! -- Aaron

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:15 pm • # 2 

It sounds as if you're doing some building of your own, and since you asked here are my opinions but keep in mind they are just opinions.
Line guides for UL rods, I can go either way. I like snakes on my bamboo just for the look because it's classy. But on graphite, single foot may look better.

For UL rods, no need for double-uplocking. That's just over kill. Unlocking would look fine and work well. Down locking some believe is more secure and it places the reel down a little farther near the end. Never played with one, so I won't say more on that.
Slip rings have stood the test of time, and they are secure. I would get nickle rings, not aluminum.
I have rings on my 7' 3wt and bamboo 4wt and they work very well. They are also less expensive.

The insert, wood is always classic looking.