It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 11:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 18 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: Grit size suggestion
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:18 am • # 1 

I am considering sanding the guides on a fly rod. If the guides are closely inspected they show tiny groves
likely (I'm guessing) caused by the backing running through the guides.
Can anyone suggest a grit size?

Post subject: Re: Grit size suggestion
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:09 am • # 2 

I'm no expert, but I'd be inclined to use a cratex bit in a Dremel tool. It's a rubber bit impregnated with a fine abrasive. I'm assuming they are snake guides? Also, you can finish them off with Simichrome polish, which provides a bit more corrosion resistance than bare metal. I use it to polish the smooth face of the triggers on my DA revolvers; never had one rust yet.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:08 pm • # 3 

Thanks Hipshot.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:53 am • # 4 

What I got out of this post:
Here's a guy who is into his backing often enough that it is taking a toll on his guides!
YES!!!!!! Well done, pal.
brent

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:55 pm • # 5 

wheezeburnt wrote:
Here's a guy who is into his backing often enough that it is taking a toll on his guides!
brent

Thanks Brent. Doesn't happen often anymore. I worked in Virginia for two years and this was my only rod. I fished swift rivers for SMB and
a 12 inch or greater would take me to my backing. Since using this rod in Texas I've had two LMB and one 10lb catfish take me into my backing
on this rod....that's it.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:39 pm • # 6 

I agree with hipshot. The cratex should work well for what you are intending to do.

Wish I could get into may backing just once. Maybe next year.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:29 pm • # 7 

Iasgair wrote:
I agree with hipshot. The cratex should work well for what you are intending to do.