It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:04 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 12 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: Fly rod/reel collection
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:04 pm • # 1 

Hello everyone,

I am a new forum member, and I am excited to be be a part of this community.

My father recently passed away (within the past 2 months), and I have inherited what I believe to be a large fly fishing collection. My father was 91 when he passed away, and had been fly fishing the various branches of the Ausable River in northern Michigan since the 1950’s. Unfortunately, as far as the fly fishing goes, the apple fell a little far from the tree. Thus, I have little knowledge of the values of these items. As I am unable to list the items for sale here in the classifieds forum, I was looking for some guidance before I list a description of the rods and reels in my first post. If everyone agrees that it would be appropriate to list the items (rods/reels) here to get advice on their values, then I will be glad to do that in a subsequent post.

Thank you for your consideration

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:21 am • # 2 

Sorry to hear of the loss of your father...may his memory always be a blessing.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:37 am • # 3 

MSU Yooper wrote:
Hello everyone,

I am a new forum member, and I am excited to be be a part of this community.

Remarkable way to feel about it all considering the "apple fell a little far from the tree" according to your own description as it relates to flyfishing. Condolences to you on your Pop's demise, probably ought to try Ebay or similar for unloading the inherited items.

There are other forums out there for appraisals, give 'em a shot and don't be disappointed if what you have doesn't fetch the fortune of your dreams. Most old tackle doesn't.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 3:59 pm • # 4