It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:04 am • # 1 

Just wanted to share my opinions on a few 1 weight rods I've had the chance to recently play with.

I fished an Orvis Superfine Touch 761-4 for about 5 months last year and really grew to like the action. I'm relatively new to fly fishing. In the 6 months since I started fly fishing, I've owned 1 weight to 7 weight rods, fished in streams, rivers, disgusting ponds, protected bays and open surf. So, that's my background.

Through a confluence of unexpected events, I recently had the opportunity to lawn cast a Sage TXL-F 1710-4, Sage TXL 1710-3, and a TFO Finesse 691-4. All four rods were cast with WF1F Orvis Superfine Gen3 Wonderline which is a dual front taper (not to be confused with double taper), light presentation line.

Orvis SFT 761-4 - Slow, full flex action. The action really made me focus on smooth, gradual acceleration and an abrupt stop.
PROS: Once I learned not to muscle it, it became a dream to cast... a smooth extension of my hand with great loop control. Wispy light! After fishing it for a while, you'll forget that it's in your hand. Loads well with just a rod length of line out; just let the rod do the work- flex, recover, and fling line! Fun to fish! 8" trout are much more fun when you bring them in with a bend in the rod vs launching them into the trees. Beautiful craftsmanship. Unsanded finish, brown/orange thread wraps, gold anodized hardware, bird's eye maple spacer, quality rod sock, and LIGHT graphite tube. High pride of ownership. Rolex bling!
CONS: My lack of casting experience made it awkward to switch back and forth from other faster action rods. Trying to reach 40' from the shoreline of an alpine lake at 11,000' with a steady breeze + inexperienced caster + slower action rod = tailing loops galore.

Sage TXL-F 1710-4