It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: Winter Trout
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:54 pm • # 1 

Hello all,

I'm somewhat new to fly fishing for trout. I've been using my Cabelas Prestige 3 wt. for bluegill for the last couple of years, but I'm trying to better my technique when it comes to trout fishing. Can anyone recommend a good setup for winter trout? I'm in SC, and the steams I fish have some nice pools that probably range from 5-8 or 9 ft. I know that I need to get my fly down more, but I guess I'm a bit confused about the setup. Should I be using some split shot and a strike indicator, and if so, can anyone recommend what type? Really, any advice would appreciated.

I'm hope to start contributing to this forum soon!

Post subject: Re: Winter Trout
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:17 am • # 2 

If you tie your own flies, start using Tungsten beads. That will help your flies get down much faster. Don't be afraid to try your existing rod for trout. I use my 3wt all the time on rivers. Depends on your fishery of course, but don't be afraid to try.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:16 am • # 3 

I've alway used either a dry double dropper or an indicator with a double nymph rig. Add a little split shot if needed. For me, it's tougher and I get some nasty tangles the more hardware i add to my line, especially on the ultralight rods.
I tried "swinging wet flies" this winter and had success. This might work for you and to me is a more pleasant way to fish. http://midcurrent.com/techniques/beyond-the-swing/. You could use a sinking leader to give you some depth if the wet fly isn't where you want it in the water column.
Finally, try a wooly bugger or some other critter pattern. You can swing them or fish them where you suspect the trout are lying.
Hope that helps a bit.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:39 am • # 4