It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Go to page 1, 2  Next   Page 1 of 2   [ 25 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: casting help, please
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:17 am • # 1 

I am new to this sport and I am getting pretty frustrated with my inability to cast. I keep getting my tippet fouled during the cast and end up with horrific knots. I think I know the problem, or a big part of it anyhow. I use a St. Croix 3 wt. 6'6" rod. When I cast, I cannot feel the tip loading. I have tried my wife's Elkhorn 5 wt. 8' rod, and the feel of the tip loading is pretty obvious. Any suggestions for helping feel the tip load? Or, is the short length of my rod making it impossible to get a good cast?

Post subject: Re: casting help, please
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 11:14 am • # 2 

I'd be inclined to encourage you to spend a few hours with your wife's 8' 5wt.rod, and get a really good feel for the casting techniques first, and THEN swap to the little 6'.
I'm no expert by any means, but I've had a lot more luck teaching folks to cast using a longer rod (8.5 feet) in a heavier line wt than with shorter rods. I just feel, as you noted, the loading is more obvious. Plus, the whole casting process seems slower and more manageable.
I'm not saying you cannot learn with the short, light rod; I'm just saying that, in my limited experience, it is more of a challenge.
In addition, I wonder if you're trying to throw too long a line with the wee rod, based on your experience with the longer rod.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:21 pm • # 3 

"I keep getting my tippet fouled during the cast and end up with horrific knots. I think I know the problem, or a big part of it anyhow."

Heck, I've been fly fishing for 50 years and I still do that. :lol :lol :lol

Les is the expert on this and he'll eventually come on the board and give you the answer you need.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:26 pm • # 4