It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 12 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: Fixed line fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:24 pm • # 1 
Administrator

Hello all, decided to add another forum for Tenkara. Keiryu, and other Japanese style fixed line methods may also be discussed here.

Enjoy!

Post subject: Re: Fixed line fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:23 pm • # 2 

Yes!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:31 am • # 3 

:applause Its good to see a Tenkara forum I have been fishing Tenkara for several years & love it I've gotten to the point where I use Tenkara more than westeren.I do a lot of blue linning for brookies in the Mts of Va & Wv Tenkara is my choice every time

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:41 am • # 4 
Administrator

I bought a Tenkara rod last year, but I don't use it much. It has its place, but for me I'm better served with a regular fly rod or UL spinning rod for most of my fishing situations.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:11 pm • # 5 

jkurtz7 wrote:
I bought a Tenkara rod last year, but I don't use it much. It has its place, but for me I'm better served with a regular fly rod or UL spinning rod for most of my fishing situations.

I was an early adopter of Tenkara, it works great for certain conditions. Our rhododendron "tunnels" make it a very frustrating experience. Some of my favorite streams are less than 5 feet across, with no space overhead. It's difficult to manage even a 6 foot fly rod. I've been using a Micro fishing rod (190cm) with 7X and a red worm (no weight) on either a #12 or #14 barbless hook, with only a few of feet of line (Keiryu style). Getting the fish "to hand" with a long fixed line is tough in such tight quarters. An XUL spinning rod is better but with the very spooky native brookies you have to be stealthy. If they see or hear you they'll hide under a rock or log for hours.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:55 pm • # 6 
Administrator

JB in SC wrote: