It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 8 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 11:36 pm • # 1 

A few years ago I took a gamble on a small pack rod from Black Bear Fly Fishing, a company that is apparently no longer in business. This rod is glass, an 8 piece with spigot ferrules. As on many inexpensive rods with spigot ferrules, the ferrules are a little extra long. When I first got the rod I had considerable difficulty in casting it smoothly. I took it to a conclave and found I was not the only person who had difficulty casting it. The rod has been sitting in a closet in my garage for several years. I got it out today to give it another try. I have been fishing glass now for about 12 years, and have learned to adapt my stroke and my timing to a wide variety of actions. There had been a couple of other rods that I once had difficulty casting, but now consider very smooth action rods. The Black Bear rod was no exception. My friend Charlie and I both cast the rod with Barrio Small Stream WF2 and WF3 lines, finding the rod cast well with either line. Also very good with a Cabela's Prestige DT2. Casting to a distance of about 40 feet seemed to be the rod's limit. I remember when I first got this rod I took it fishing on my favorite small stream and caught a couple of very small sunfish. Even with these small fish, the rod bent down into the grip. Now that I am able to cast it more effectively I am ready to try again. I can't even imagine how it will handle a 12" stream bass, but I am looking forward to finding out.

Larry

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2019 8:43 am • # 2 
Administrator

Larry,
Perfect time for a review on the water.
I wonder if there's any more of these being sold or existing stock. I remember the man who called these rods the "bees knees" had also carried a line of modern vintage Capps reels. Did you ever have one of those?

Les

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2019 8:48 am • # 3