It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:26 am • # 1 

Just picked up a 2wt and the commercial rio leaders seem like the but section is a little to large or stiff. Cut one back and added some lighter tippet but have not tried it yet. I seem to remember quite a few of you on here using ferruled leaders. Was there a particular brand or someone selling them that worked well? Any other comercial leaders working well? I used to tie my own leaders but will probably not get back into that.
Was mainly interested in trying some of the ferruled leaders I think.

Thanks,
Russell

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:27 pm • # 2 

I think you are referring to furled leaders. I have been using them for several years. There are quite a few sources, but I currently get all of mine from streamsideleaders.com. Mike has been making furled leaders for many years, and his leaders are of high quality, and usually lower in price than others I have tried. He makes leaders for line weight ranges from 0-2 up to 8-10. His leaders are available in several different lengths, and are available in materials ranging from Uni-thread to monofilament to Spectra material. They can be had with Shorb loops at both ends or with tippet rings at the distal end. If you have something different in mind, he can make custom tapered leaders. I don't have any connection to his business other than as a well satisfied customer.

Larry

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:49 pm • # 3 

Correct spelling seems to be very lacking in my posts on this sight....

Larry, what material and configuration do you find works best from him for the ultralight lines.

Russell

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:43 pm • # 4