It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:47 am • # 1 

I am new to tying and ran into a problem I hope someone on the UL forum can help me with.

The dyed hackle feathers I buy locally are too large for the size 12 and 14's woolly buggers I am tying. Using just the tips seems like a large waste. Is there such a thing as small dyed hackle feathers suitable for UL sized flies? Searched the web and came up dry.

Thanks in advance for any help.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:28 pm • # 2 

It IS a problem. I've found that occasionally the Whiting dry fly capes will have a few at the back of the cape that are way too webby to be considered for dry fly tying, and I pluck these out and store them for just the purpose you mentioned. But it is definitely hit and miss when it comes to coming up with a supply for smaller buggers. Hopefully someone else here will have an answer, because I'd like to hear it, too.
Other than that, all I can say is that you have to buy a lot of very cheap (Chinese?) hen capes to get a good supply.
brent

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:44 pm • # 3 

Wheezeburnt,

Thanks for the reply. Ditto on picking through to find a few smaller feathers. Too much waste and hit or miss trying to use "tips".

Hopefully some one on the UL forum will have a source for these small hackle feathers.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:07 am • # 4 

Perhaps schlappen from the craft store?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:39 pm • # 5 

Frustrating indeed, I use dry fly hackle for those sizes but you end up limited by cost/color and the fibers tend to be a bit stiff. The cheap rooster saddle may be the way to go.

I've been using a good bit of schlappen lately and I don't think you could get it that small.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:16 am • # 6