It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:42 pm • # 1 

I'm new to tying and have found hackles and ribs a real pain as the dangling bobbin is in the way.

Hopefully this will make things a bit easier. Ingredients were a piece of 1.6mm stainless TIG rod, a child's hardwood building building block about 1" square, and a brass bolt. The wire is glued into the block. With the right tension on the bolt ( just hand tight ) the block stays where you put it on the vice stem.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:16 pm • # 2 
Administrator

that works- ingenious.

Les

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:24 pm • # 3 

It seems to, also works quite well for forming posts, which is a bonus !

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:57 pm • # 4 

wafty wrote:
It seems to, also works quite well for forming posts, which is a bonus !

Nice. I have been looking for a gallows tool for tying paraloop patterns.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:07 pm • # 5 

It's not a true gallows as as such, with this you still have to tilt the hook. But, it does free a hand up for hand over hand round the post with the bobbin. Before this I pinched the post with one hand, and struggled with the bobbin with the other.

You can see I form my post as a loop, but there would be no reason a pair of hackle pliers couldn't be used to grip the post, and then hooked on the arm.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:34 pm • # 6 

wafty wrote:
It's not a true gallows as as such, with this you still have to tilt the hook. But, it does free a hand up for hand over hand round the post with the bobbin. Before this I pinched the post with one hand, and struggled with the bobbin with the other.

You can see I form my post as a loop, but there would be no reason a pair of hackle pliers couldn't be used to grip the post, and then hooked on the arm.