It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1   [ 14 posts ] New Topic Add Reply
 Post subject: Klinkhamer Special
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:34 pm • # 1 

This is my first attempt. It turned out to be a lot harder to take pictures while tying; I had to hold a sheet of paper on my left hand to cover the background so that the camera can focus.

Here is the recipe:
Hook: TMC 108SP-BL #16
Thread: Danville 6/0 cream
Body: Super Fine amber
Thorax: Peacock herl
Hackle: Whiting 100 grizzly

1. Secure the hook. For this hook, this angle seems to be the best/easiest.

2. Tie the parachute post perpendicular to the hook shank close to the eye.

3. Secure the saddle hackle and move the thread down to the bend.

4. Wrap the desired dubbing up to the post.

5. Tie a couple of peacock herl (I'm using 3 for this one)

6. Now the fun part. If you are serious about parachute flies, get one of these hackle pliers.

7. Otherwise, turn the fly so that the post is parallel to the table (remove the hook from the vise if necessary) and turn the hackle 4 or 5 times.

8. Whipfinish and reorient the fly.

9. Remove loose fibers and trim the post to the desired length.

10. Go fishing. :D

Post subject: Re: Klinkhamer Special
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:26 pm • # 2 

Nice. I've gotta get some of those hooks. The beauty behind emerger designs like the Klinkhamer, is the truth behind most hatches (Caddis and mayflies at least)......on most of them, trout mostly key in on helpless prey. It is the way of nature. So when an angler sees rising trout, most of the time, the fish are feeding on insects right under the surface, or on insects that are scurrying up through the water column and catching them right near the surface.

That is a nice emerger pattern. That hook would be perfect for shucking midge patterns. I have to get some. That is a beautiful tie. Thx.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:58 pm • # 3 

DCG wrote: